Day One: or Hello World!

I’m unfit. I’m fat. I’m unhappy. I’m unemployed and I’m in a bad marriage. But I plan to transform my life through Bikram Yoga, generally improving my fitness, changing my relationship with food and one season of women’s rugby.

Why Rugby?

Not entirely sure. But I like the atmosphere. I signed my son up for regular weekend practice. I don’t really understand the rules of rugby. I’m an ‘experiential’ person – so learn best by doing.  A couple of people suggested I give it a try. Why not?  It looks fun.  I’m quite far from doing the rugby specific training. But I am doing the Couch to 5 K programme (free podcasts from the NHS) which gets you running and weight training three times a week to build my stamina and strength.  The Bikram yoga also helps with stamina, flexibility, core strength and grip.

Why Yoga?

A friend suggested it. I gave it a try. She promised me that I could lose a dress size in a month of going 3 to 4 times a week. Not quite sure I have, but when you weigh as much as I do dress sizes are pretty far between.  I have definitely lost inches. But the first time I weighed myself – after almost four weeks of Bikram, I found I’d GAINED 11 lbs.  Freaked me out. I figure I lost  7 of those over the weekend (using a different set of scales) by ensuring I was drinking enough water and taking electrolyte supplements.  Using the same set of scales (at home) I lost another 2 pounds.

I do find the Bikram Yoga pretty addictive. I did a 30 day intro deal and have just bought another 3 months. I’ll reassess then as it’s pretty expensive. But I’d love to get as far as I can in my practice in that time and then roll back to a lower intensity.

Changing my relationship with food?

I’m using the Paul McKenna “I Can Make You Thin” system. I’ve used it before. It really works. But it’s not immune to the power of my intensive self-sabotage and deliberately giving up on the approach.  This time I going to use the 90 day success journal approach.  And I’m going to record it here on a DAILY basis. I’ve always found blogging easier than journalling.  However, due to copyright issues I’ll be recording an amended approach covering.

Food, Water, Exercise, Affirmation and motivation.

 

Leave a Reply

